“POWERADE Power Your School” – $2,000 awarded to Istrouma High School

Baton Rouge, LA — September, 2017 — High school athletics play a critical role in the physical and psychological development of young athletes, yet athletic programs across the country are being subjected to deep budget cuts, leaving many powerless.

In response, POWERADE® is helping schools in need with the Power Your School program, which awards $1 million to high school athletic programs around the country. For the chance to win a share of the funding at powerade.com, student athletes and their supporters submitted essays and videos to demonstrate their schools’ needs.

New Orleans Saints Safety Von Bell, Curtis Lanoux, Bret Fairchild, Sarah Gillis, and Roderick Crockett (Coca-Cola United) present Principal Reginald Douglas and Istrouma High School with a check for $2,000 as a recipient of the POWERADE® Power Your School Program.

New Orleans Saints Safety Von Bell made a surprise visit to Istrouma High School in Baton Rouge to award their athletic program $2,000 as part of the POWERADE® Power Your School program.


“The POWERADE® Power Your School Program was created by Coca-Cola UNITED six years ago as a local promotion in Louisiana and South Mississippi markets,” said Sarah Gillis, Media & Promotions Director for the West Region of Coca-Cola UNITED. “The impact the program has made on high school athletic programs has been heartwarming, so much so that the Powerade brand team took notice and decided to make it a national program this fall. We appreciate Von Bell coming to Istrouma High School to help surprise them with $2,000, they were an ideal choice for the award today based on the reopening of the school this fall and the celebration of their 100 year anniversary,” she added.


The Power Your School program selects 500 schools across the country for a share of the $1 million in funding.  Contest entries were judged based on school need, creativity, and quality of submission.

Watch: Details about this year’s entry process and watch for your chance to enter next year!